Denver: a city license, its own sales tax and an event calendar for offers
For a Shopify store, Denver is its own tax authority: the Denver Revised Municipal Code sets a city sales tax, the city collects it, and the city issues its own license. Denver's tax guide says the city imposes a 5.15 percent sales tax on retail sales, including online sales to customers located in Denver, and that anyone making taxable retail sales in the city is required to be licensed. A seller with economic nexus must get a Denver sales tax license. On top of that sits a short event calendar: the National Western Stock Show fills January 9 to 24, 2027. This page puts the licensing question first and the offer after it.
Check your sales into Denver against the city's economic nexus rule. The FAQ says that having it means obtaining a Denver sales tax license, and the license carries no fee and runs two years.
Schedule one short offer for the stock show with the start and end dates in the banner, and switch on the Today's offers widget so it appears on the storefront while the offer is live.
Denver's rate is a separate city tax. The Treasury FAQ lists a combined general rate of 9.15 percent, so a 100 dollar order to a Denver address carries about 9.15 dollars of tax, and the checkout total will be higher than the offer's headline price.
Once you are licensed, file and remit by the 20th of the month after the period closes, and keep the event offers' orders tagged so you can tell what the stock show brought in.
The 2027 National Western Stock Show runs from January 9 to 24. A two-week offer that starts the day it opens and stops the day it closes is short enough to cap its cost and clear enough to explain in one line.
A launcher that lists the live offers keeps a short event offer from hiding in a banner a returning shopper has already scrolled past, and it lists only offers that are live.
Check the license before you promote into the city
Denver says economic nexus requires a Denver sales tax license and does not publish a dollar threshold on its FAQ page. If you plan to push an offer at Denver customers, ask the Treasury Division whether your sales put you over its line before the campaign, not after.
Yes. Denver's Tax Guide Topic 70 says the city imposes a 5.15 percent sales tax, and its FAQ lists a combined general rate of 9.15 percent. Online sales to customers located in Denver are subject to it. This is not tax advice; confirm with Denver's Treasury Division.
Do I need a Denver license if my store is outside Colorado?
Denver's FAQ says that if you have economic nexus you are required to obtain a Denver sales tax license; it does not state a dollar threshold. The license has no fee and lasts two years. Confirm with the Treasury Division; this is not tax advice.
Denver's January stock show brings a defined, dated crowd to the city, and a store that ships into Denver can time a short offer to it and show that offer on the storefront while it runs.
Facts and sources
Denver's Tax Guide Topic 70, revised March 2026, says the Denver Revised Municipal Code imposes a 5.15 percent sales tax on retail sales, leases or rentals of tangible personal property, and that retail sales made online to customers located in Denver are subject to sales tax.
Denver's guide says any person making taxable retail sales in Denver is required to be licensed to collect and remit sales tax, and that returns are due with remittance on or before the 20th day of the month after the taxable period ends.
Denver's business tax FAQ says that if you have economic nexus you are required to obtain a Denver sales tax license, and the page does not state a dollar or sales threshold for economic nexus.
The Denver sales tax license is issued for a biennial period, two years, and the city says it no longer charges a license fee for the retailer's sales, use and lodgers tax license.
The Great American Beer Festival's website lists the 2026 festival as Oct. 10 to 11, 2026, at Denver's Levitt Pavilion, so it ends on Oct. 11, and posts no 2027 dates.